Europe is one of six continents on the planet, the second smallest on land, behind only Oceania. With an area of ​​10 498 000 km 2 and a population of 744 707 158 inhabitants, the European continent has 50 independent countries, according to CountryAah.com.

Russia is the largest country in Europe and the world. With a territory of 17 098 242 km2, it is located on two continents, in eastern Europe and Asia (where most of its land is concentrated), and its capital Moscow is in the European part. The smallest territory in Europe is the Vatican, with an area of ​​0.44 km 2 . Although located within Rome, the capital of Italy, it is an independent state.

Located in the northern hemisphere (above the equator line), the European continent borders on the following areas:

  • North: Arctic Glacial Ocean and North Sea
  • South: Mediterranean Sea
  • East: Ural Mountains, natural border with Asia
  • Southeast: Black Sea
  • West: Atlantic Ocean

Europe’s socioeconomic division

Based on economic, political and human characteristics, we classify Europe into:

Western Europe

Where developed countries are concentrated, such as Germany, France and the United Kingdom.

Eastern Europe

Where less developed countries are concentrated, such as Poland, Ukraine and Croatia.

European countries and their capitals

Western Europe

  • Germany: Berlin
  • Austria: Vienna
  • Andorra: Andorra la Vella
  • Belgium: Brussels
  • Denmark: Copenhagen
  • Spain: Madrid
  • Finland: Helsinki
  • France: Paris
  • Greece: Athens
  • Netherlands (Netherlands): Amsterdam
  • Ireland: Dublin
  • Iceland: Reykjavik
  • Italy: Rome
  • Liechtenstein: Vaduz
  • Luxembourg: Luxembourg
  • Monaco: City of Monaco
  • Norway: Oslo
  • Lisbon Portugal
  • United Kingdom: London
  • San Marino: San Marino
  • Switzerland: Bern
  • Sweden: Stockholm

Eastern Europe

  • Albania: Tirana
  • Belarus (Belarus): Minsk
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina: Sarajevo
  • Bulgaria: Sofia
  • Croatia: Zagreb
  • Slovakia: Bratislava
  • Slovenia: Ljubljana
  • Estonia: Tallinn
  • Georgia: Tibilisi
  • Hungary: Budapest
  • Latvia: Riga
  • Lithuania: Vilnius
  • Macedonia: Scope
  • Moldova: Chisinau
  • Montenegro: Podgorica
  • Poland: Warsaw
  • Czech Republic: Prague
  • Romania: Bucharest
  • Serbia: Belgrade
  • Russia: Moscow
  • Turkey: Ankara
  • Ukraine: Kiev

Some countries in Asia are listed as Eastern European due to their socio-cultural links with Europe. These countries are:

  • Armenia: Ierivan
  • Azerbaijan: Baku

Curiosities about Europe

Did you know that some countries in Europe fit within some of our Brazilian states? See below some examples:

  • Germany, with an area of ​​357 022 km2, fits in the state of Mato Grosso do Sul which has 357 145 km2.
  • Denmark, with an area of ​​43, 094 km2, fits into the state of Rio de Janeiro which has 43, 781 km2.
  • France, with an area of ​​549 190 km², fits in the state of Minas Gerais which has 586 520 km2.
  • Italy, with an area of ​​301 340 km2, fits in the state of Maranhão which has 331 936 km2.
  • The United Kingdom, with an area of ​​243,610 km2, fits into the state of São Paulo which has 248 219 km2.
  • Portugal, with an area of ​​92 090 km2, fits in the state of Santa Catarina which has 95 737 km2.
  • Market stall, Dusseldorf Restaurants in Dusseldorf - The following restaurants are divided into three categories: Expensive (over € 40) Moderate ( € 25 to € 40) Inexpensive (up to € 25) The prices given are the average price for a three-course menu per person without drinks. Lifted Nagaya In Nagaya , the star chef Yoshizumi Nagaya celebrates Japanese cuisine, which has been awarded two Michelin stars. The […]
  • United Kingdom Religion United Kingdom Religion - In the UK there is a wide range of religions and societies. There are two national churches: the Anglican (Church of England) in England and the Presbyterian (Church of Scotland) in Scotland. In recent decades, however, society has become increasingly secular. According to the 2011 census, nearly 60 percent of residents in England and Wales, […]
  • Ukraine Religion Ukraine Religion - Most residents identify as Orthodox Christians. Three Orthodox churches have been reduced to two: one subordinate to the Moscow Patriarchate and an independent Ukrainian church under the Kiev Patriarchate. In western Ukraine, many of the Greek-Catholic Church, and a smaller group belong to the Roman Catholic. There are also Protestant communities and Jewish congregations. The […]
  • Switzerland Religion Switzerland Religion - The majority of Swiss are Christian, of which slightly more Catholics than Protestants. The latter belong to the Reformed Church which originated in Switzerland. One fifth of the residents say they have no religion at all. Christianity came early to Switzerland with Roman soldiers and merchants, but only in the early Middle Ages did the […]
  • Sweden Religion Sweden Religion - The Swedish Church was a state church until the year 2000 and a majority of the residents still belong to the Evangelical Lutheran Congregation. At the same time, Sweden is today regarded as one of the world’s most non-religious countries. Immigration has meant that Islam is now the second largest religion. The first Christian missionaries […]
  • Spain Religion Spain Religion - Catholicism is no longer state religion in Spain, but is still favored by the state in some respects. Nearly three-quarters of the population count as Catholics, but just under half of them attend church regularly. During the Franco dictatorship (1939-1975), the Catholic Church was one of the most important pillars of power. With democratization after […]
  • Slovenia Religion Slovenia Religion - Slovenia – Religion A majority of Slovenes are Roman Catholics. In addition, there are smaller groups of mainly Muslims and Orthodox Christians. Freedom of religion is constitutional and respected. In a 2002 census, 58 percent identified themselves as Catholics, while more than one in three residents did not declare any religion or call themselves non-religious. […]
  • Slovakia Religion Slovakia Religion - Freedom of religion is guaranteed by the constitution and the Slovakians can in practice freely practice their religion. Almost two-thirds of residents in the 2011 census said they belong to the Roman Catholic Church. There are also Protestant communities and smaller groups of Orthodox Christians, Jews and Muslims. In the census, just over one tenth […]
  • Serbia Religion Serbia Religion - Most Serbs are Orthodox Christians. Religious freedom prevails and other ethnic groups can practice their religions. At the same time, the powerful Serbian Orthodox Church functions as something of a state church in practice. The Serbian Orthodox Church has great influence in society and has been able to claim a number of benefits that other […]
  • San Marino Religion San Marino Religion - More than 95 percent of San Marino residents are estimated to belong to the Roman Catholic faith, which is state religion in San Marino. There are small minorities of Protestants (including Electorate), Baha’is, Muslims and Jews. The Catholic Church has a significant influence in society. Many official ceremonies are held in the great 14th-century San […]